The East Bay has long been recognized for its regional and national role in advancing new technologies and ideas, and this year the East Bay Economic Development Alliance (East Bay EDA) is spotlighting some of the most significant contributors to the East Bay’s unique culture and legacy of innovation. Today, the organization announced the pool of 16 finalists who are in the running for the second annual East Bay Innovation Awards.

“The East Bay is home to a wide variety of innovators in job sectors that include clean fuels, food production, digital animation, medical devices, and many more,” said Alameda County Supervisor Keith Carson, Chair of the East Bay EDA. “We want to celebrate their accomplishments, raise awareness about the forward-thinking businesses and resources that are based in the East Bay, and inspire other companies to think outside the box.”

The 16 companies and organizations – selected by independent industry professionals after a public nomination process coordinated and launched by the East Bay Economic Development Alliance – are being recognized not only for being instrumental in advancing the region’s culture of innovation, but also for contributing to regional prosperity.

“Over 100 nominations were received, and we were so impressed by the high quality of nominees across all the industry categories,” said Darien Louie, Executive Director of East Bay EDA.

The East Bay Innovation Awards recognizes companies in clean technology, advanced manufacturing, food, information/communication technology, life sciences, engineering and design. The finalists this year are:

  • Back To The Roots
  • Bayer HealthCare
  • Boerhinger Ingleheim
  • Children’s Hospital and Research Center Oakland
  • Meyer Sound
  • Northern California Biotechnology Center at Ohlone College
  • Revolution Foods
  • Singulex
  • Sungevity
  • Techbridge
  • Youth Radio
  • Zero Net Energy Center

In addition to these categories, nominations were solicited for innovation in business and education partnerships, thought-leader or catalyst of the year, and a legacy award to recognize an individual or organization that has had a lasting impact on the culture of innovation in the East Bay.

The selected finalists will be recognized at a gala event on February 13, 2014 at the Fox Theater in Oakland. At the event, East Bay EDA will also announce the Innovation Award winners, which will be selected from the pool of finalists.

Lead sponsors for the event are Chevron Corporation and Wells Fargo. Award sponsors also include Bank of America, Bayer HealthCare, IBEW/NECA, and Wendel Rosen Black and Dean. Additional supporters include the East Bay Community Foundation, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, and Kaiser Permanente. Sponsorship opportunities are still available.

For more information, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.